top of page
  • tagoodquestions

Maintaining Hope

Yesterday was a beautiful spring day in NY. As I considered what to wear to shul, I looked through my closet, scrolling through the dresses hanging in my closet. I came across a navy dress with bright yellow lemons on it. It's a nice dress, that looks good on, is comfortable to wear, and was right for the feeling of the day. And I had only worn it once. Last year I decided that I needed a "sukkot" dress with lemons on it that would sub-in for etrog. So, I bought this dress in the middle of sukkot and was so excited to wear it at the end of the holiday. Last year...on October 7th. I went to shul on October 7, 2023 not knowing anything about the horrors happening in Israel. I put on my new dress and happily walked to shul, excited to have this special clothing for a special day. When I walked in the building, that all quickly changed.


So, yesterday, I came across the dress and thought "maybe I can wear it again." So, I did. As I walked to shul I remembered how it all went down on October 7th and said to myself "maybe it will be the opposite this time. Maybe there will be something good." And then I got to shul, found a seat and my husband came over. "Has anyone told you the news yet?" he asked. My mind immediately thought something bad happend and I literally thought "I'm going to have to burn this dress." Then he told me the wonderful news of the rescue of Noa, Shlomi, Almog, and Andrey.



I cried (I'm sure I'm not alone in that.) I was so grateful to hear some good news. Not only for these 4 people rescued after EIGHT months of being held, but also because it brought me back hope.


For some time I've felt hope dwindling...disbelief that hostages would be found alive or found at all...a disbelief that the heroic stories I've grown up hearing about the IDF would come to pass again here...a loss of that key emotion that helps you keep going. Yesterday's rescue makes me believe that there could be more. I hope and pray that will be the case.


Today, I added another piece of tape under my daily count of the number of days hostages have been held in Gaza. A piece of tape that says תִּקְוָה, Tikvah - Hope!




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page