top of page
  • tagoodquestions

Parsha-Inspired Menu - Shavuot

At first I thought I would have to change this title to be "Chag-Inspired Menu," but since we read about Shavuot as the Torah reading on the second day of Shavuot, I'm still going to say this is Parsha-inspired! While we don't read some of the details in this particular reading, my menu for Shavuot Shabbat is inspired by the sheva minim, the seven species of Israel. Since on Shavuot we harvest the bikkurim, the first fruits of the harvest in Eretz Yisrael, I felt that this was a fitting inspiration. As a reminder, the seven species are wheat, barley, grapes, figs, olives, pomegranates, and dates.


I should note, I am not making dairy for dinner. I know, I know. That may seem strange to many who deeply associate Shavuot with dairy foods. It is a long-standing custom among many Jews. I felt that after all the dairy on Thursday night and Friday afternoon, plus the planned dairy for Saturday day, a little meat might be desired by my crew, especially for Shabbat dinner. I also found that there was a custom to have first a dairy meal and then a meat one.

The Rema (494:3) explains that in remembrance of the shetei ha-lechem, the two loaves offered in the Beit Ha-Mikdash on Shavuot, we wish to eat two loaves of bread at the meal. Since one is not permitted to use the same loaf of bread for both a dairy and meat meal (Shulchan Arukh, Yoreh De’ah 89:4), we eat a dairy meal and then a meat meal in order to ensure that two loaves are eaten.

So, let's just say we are following the Rema this year!

So, what are having to fit in the seven species and the general theme of Shavuot:

  • Chicken or fish primavera with zucchini, tomatoes, and OLIVES

  • Orzo (WHEAT-based) and BARLEY with sautéed onions

  • Salad with cucumber, avocado, raisins, (dried GRAPES), DATES, and POMEGRANATE dressing

  • Roasted carrots (wrapped to look like Torahs)

  • Dessert - Chocolate cake in the from of a flower (tradition that Har Sinai was covered with flowers) & dried FIGS













29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page