top of page
  • tagoodquestions

Parsha-Inspired Menus - B'Shallach


In the fall of 2001 Rabbi Daniel Goldfarb, then Director of the Conservative Yeshiva, gave a drash on Parshat Toldot - the weekly reading of the Torah where Esau sells his birthright to Jacob for a bowl of the "red stuff." As part of his drash on the parsha, he shared with us a family recipe, Jenny Fish's Red Lentil Soup. I have been making it ever since. Every year. For 21 years.


This year I decided that I wanted to try a project to add in food-tie ins more often, with a goal of doing it each time I am hosting Shabbat dinner. I mentioned it to our boys and we had fun with it for a few weeks. Then there were a few Shabbatot where we didn't host and I lost track of it. The next time I hosted, as we hung out before dinner and after lighting candles, my boys asked what on the menu was tied into the parsha. I was so surprised that this project had already taken a place in their idea of what happened on Shabbat. Unfortunately, I hadn't actually planned anything to match (I sheepishly told them.) What ensued was a creative retro-fitting of what was already made to connect to something in the parsha.


This week we thought ahead and came up with two fun ideas:

1. Split Sea Pea Soup, for the splitting of the sea and because sea and pea rhyme, obviously :)

2. Bitters Salad, for the bitter waters the Israelites encountered when they were traveling after the splitting of the sea. After the Israelites complained, God tells Moshe to throw wood into the water and the water becomes sweet.

This is going to be a salad of romaine lettuce, radicchio, arugula, radish, and avocado (not bitter, just yummy) with a horseradish vinaigrette.


Excited to see what kind of discussions these menu items create this week.




46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page