top of page
  • tagoodquestions

Parsha Inspired Menus - Eikev

When going through the parsha with a fine tooth comb, as I do when looking for inspiration for #parshainspiredmenus, I find new words, lines, or ideas that catch my attention. One of those pasukim is:


וְנָשַׁל֩ יְהֹוָ֨ה אֱלֹהֶ֜יךָ אֶת־הַגּוֹיִ֥ם הָאֵ֛ל מִפָּנֶ֖יךָ מְעַ֣ט מְעָ֑ט לֹ֤א תוּכַל֙ כַּלֹּתָ֣ם מַהֵ֔ר פֶּן־תִּרְבֶּ֥ה עָלֶ֖יךָ חַיַּ֥ת הַשָּׂדֶֽה׃

Your God יהוה will dislodge those peoples before you little by little; you will not be able to put an end to them at once, else the wild beasts would multiply to your hurt.


Chizkuni explains that when it says "לא תוכל" it does not reference an inability (because how could the Israelites be unable to do something if it is what God wants), but rather "It will not be in your interest to do so, as you would create a vacuum of not enough people in the land, that would encourage invasion by free roaming beasts."


I like that Chizkuni felt a need to clarify about the Israelite's ability and the reasonable concern of what happens in the vacuum of space when something is given the chance to grow without hinderance. There's always this balance between man and nature. When do we give nature the

space to do what it does without boundaries, when do we impose some for the comfort of humans, and what happens when we take something that once had boundaries and remove them? It makes me think about some photos of abandoned malls where plant life has taken on a new life.

What is our responsibility to the earth and to fellow humans in this question? (I don't have the answer, but look forward to discussing it at Shabbat dinner!) On a much smaller scale, after 2 months away I came home to see that the

mint near my garage has taken on a life of its own. This multiplication of mint reminds me of the parsha so to honor this pasuk (and to tame back my mint), I suggest this Simply Dressed Cucumber & Mint Salad.



In contrast to this first pasuk, the second one I want to highlight is one I've certainly considered before. It is the Torah basis for the halacha of saying a blessing after eating.


וְאָכַלְתָּ֖ וְשָׂבָ֑עְתָּ וּבֵֽרַכְתָּ֙ אֶת־יְהֹוָ֣ה אֱלֹהֶ֔יךָ עַל־הָאָ֥רֶץ הַטֹּבָ֖ה אֲשֶׁ֥ר נָֽתַן־לָֽךְ׃

When you have eaten your fill, give thanks to your God יהוה for the good land given to you.


I think that saying blessings before and after we eat are one of the most powerful practices in Judaism. It's trendy now to talk about mindful eating, but I think these brachot are the original mindful eating. It is so important to remember all the effort, people, weather, and good fortune that goes into each food we eat. I didn't intend for there to be a theme of nature in this week's menu, but there it is. For this pasuk, I recommend doing a dessert that is FILLed...this is both at the end of the meal, when you will have eaten your fill, and will have some kind of filling to really drive this point home. I found a recipe that looks ridiculously easy and delicious to try for our Shabbat dinner this week - Chocolate Puff Pastry.

Shabbat Shalom & B'Tayavon!

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page