top of page
  • tagoodquestions

Scarlett & Perfect Information (aka things Tami studied)


The summer before 11th grade I read Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. I was glad to have read it and recognized quotes, even though I have never seen the movie or read the book previously. (Some of them are just in pop culture, such as "Frankly, my dear, I don't give a damn.")


When we began studying The Civil War in my AP American History class that year I realized that there was a subtle shift in my understanding of this part of our history. It wasn't that there was a full-scale shift or change in my beliefs, but I came to understand the background and mindset of the South in a different, more nuanced, and deeper way. And while it didn't change how I felt about their position, it did make me understand why the resulting policies worked out so terribly for changing the hearts and minds of many white Southerners, leading to the continued racial discrimination for another century or more.


This summer our son prepared for studying The Civil War by reading a book about that time (he chose Chasing Lincoln's Killer) and watching a movie (he chose Glory) and I hope that these similarly give him a new way of thinking of this complicated time and issues.


This all reminded me how important it is that when you are facing a conflict you look for ways, perhaps beyond just talking, that allow you insight into the deeper background, underlying beliefs, and feelings of the other parties in the situation. It reminds me of the concept in economics of the way the market would work if we all had perfect information. With this hypothetical perfect information, each participant in a market has complete up-to-date information about products and prices and can therefore make perfectly rational choices. Now, it's hypothetical because it basically never happens (some argue that chess is an example of perfect information), but the *idea* teaches us something important.


Ultimately, we would all be better off with a full picture as we figure out next steps. So, if you're facing a situation where you have to come to an agreement with someone in a conflict, or negotiating, or looking for a path forward, try to find the creative, out-of-the-box ways to get more perspective.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page