top of page
  • tagoodquestions

Yellow Caps for Passover (IYKYK)

In my mind, it all started with the yellow caps. Yes, the yellow caps on Coca-Cola bottles that signified that these were specially formulated without corn syrup so they could be Kosher for Passover.

While there are substitutes that one could use on Passover (I see you, RC Cola), there was always something special about having regular Coca-Cola on the holiday. Perhaps this extra special feeling is because so many of my other regular brands and foods had to be substituted during the week of the holiday. Not Smuckers jelly, instead we had Liebers; not Hellman's Mayo, instead we had Gefen. Especially as a brand conscious teen, it was particularly important to me to have a major iconic manufacturer go out of their way to make something that followed the dietary rules I followed for the holiday.


So, you can imagine my joy this year at two new additions I saw (actually saw, with my own two eyes) yesterday when I was doing some food shopping. If you haven't seen them yet, let me introduce to you the two newest Iconic Brand Name additions to the Kosher for Passover list:

Heinz Ketchup

and Trader Joe's Matzah


(CHEER! CHEER! CHEER!)


I know the cynic might point out that there is a real financial gain to making Kosher for Passover products since observant Jews have to start fresh with all ingredients and buy a lot of items for the holiday, but I choose to look at it from a different perspective. I like to think that it's an awareness and embracing of the Jewish community and its needs. It makes me feel seen and welcomed into their brand community. It's a good reminder of how we all can use care and attention to food needs as a way to make guests feel welcome in our homes, organizations, and work spaces.






83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page